Federal Territory Day

Today is Federal Territory Day.

Today, in the year 1974, Kuala Lumpur was separated from Selangor and put under direct Federal government rule. Kuala Lumpur became the first federal territory of Malaysia. Labuan, an island off coast of mainland Sabah, was chosen by the federal government for development into an offshore financial centre and became the second federal territory in 1984. Putrajaya is designed as the seat of the federal government and became the third federal territory on February 1, 2001.

To all Malaysians: Happy Holiday.